LibGuides: Citing sources according to APA guidelines: 4.6 Theses ǀ Dissertations

4.6 Theses ǀ Dissertations

Thesis

Published
Unpublished

A thesis is considered published when it is available from a database such as ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, an institutional repository, or an archive.

In the reference list

Igoe, L. (2022). Social emotional learning: An examination of teachers’ perspectives on the need for social emotional learning in schools [Published master's thesis, Trinity Christian College]. ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. https://www.proquest.com/docview/2707982635/
F079ACD528EB4B29PQ/3

Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the author, followed by the publication year.
List the thesis title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
After the title, include in square brackets the form-specific description “Published master’s thesis,” followed by a comma and the name of the institution that awarded the degree. This description is important for identification and retrieval of the thesis.
Provide the name of the database, institutional repository, or archive. Capitalize the first word and all major words.
End the reference with the URL (do not include a period after the URL).
In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Igoe, 2022)

Narrative citation: Igoe (2022)

Unpublished theses must be retrieved directly (in print form) from the college or university that awarded the degree. A thesis is considered published when it is available from a database such as ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, an institutional repository, or another online archive.

In the reference list

Kyrian, J. H. (1975). The social construction of motherhood [Unpublished master's thesis]. Tilburg University.

Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the author, followed by the publication year.
List the thesis title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
Include in square brackets the form-specific description “Unpublished master’s thesis” after the thesis title (important for identification and retrieval of the thesis).
End the reference with the name of the institution that awarded the degree. Capitalize the first word and all major words.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Kyrian, 1981)

Narrative citation: Kyrian (1981)

A dissertation is considered published when it is available from a database such as ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, an institutional repository, or an archive.

In the reference list

Verschoor, J. (2022). Beyond organizational boundaries: HR policies and practices aiming to secure employment [Doctoral dissertation, Tilburg University]. Tilburg University Research Portal. https://pure.uvt.nl/ws/portalfiles/portal/62121230/Verschoor_Beyond_20_05_2022.pdf

Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the author, followed by the publication year.
List the dissertation title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
After the title, include in square brackets the form-specific description “Doctoral dissertation” followed by a comma and the name of the institution that awarded the degree. This description is important for identification and retrieval of the dissertation.
Provide the name of the database, institutional repository, or archive. Capitalize the first word and all major words.
End the reference with the URL (do not include a period after the URL).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Verschoor, 2022)

Narrative citation: Verschoor (2022)

Unpublished dissertations must be retrieved directly (in print form) from the college or university that awarded the degree. A dissertation is considered published when it is available from a database such as ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global, an institutional repository, or an archive.

In the reference list

Sliepen, C. J. (1967). The role of the state in the settlement of labor disputes in the Netherlands [Doctoral dissertation]. Tilburg University.

Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the author, followed by the publication year.
List the dissertation title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
Include a form-specific description in square brackets after the dissertation title (important for identification and retrieval of the dissertation).
End the reference with the name of the institution that awarded the degree. Capitalize the first word and all major words.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Sliepen, 1967)

Narrative citation: Sliepen (1967)