Skip to Main Content

Citing sources according to APA guidelines

APA Style @ TiU

4.2 Books or e-books

On this page:

• Book or e-book • Multivolume work as a whole ǀ Volume of a multivolume work  
• Edited book or e-book • Chapter in a volume of a multivolume work
• Chapter (with DOI) in an edited book or e-book • E-book ǀ Audiobook ǀ Edited e-book (with non-database URLs)
•

Chapter (without DOI) in an edited book or e-book 

 • Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)

Book or e-book

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Henderson, A., & Wyn Jones, R. (2021). Englishness: The political force transforming Britain. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/oso/9780198870784.001.0001

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize  the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI, whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Henderson & Wyn Jones, 2021)

Narrative citation: Henderson and Wyn Jones (2021)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Wang, P. (2020). The economics of foreign exchange and global finance (3rd ed.). Springer. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-662-59271-7

Greenberg, L. S. (2017). Emotion-focused therapy (Rev. ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/15971-000

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Include the edition immediately after the title, not italicized and enclosed in parentheses. Do not use superscript (e.g., 3rd). If the book is a revised edition, write “Rev. ed.” (as in the second example).
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI (if available), whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Wang, 2020; Greenberg, 2017)

Narrative citations: Wang (2020) and Greenberg (2017)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Owusu-Apenten, R., & Vieira, E. R. (2023). Elementary food science. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-65433-7

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • The series title is not included in the reference (this book, for example, is part of Food Science Text Series).
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI, whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Owusu-Apenten & Vieira, 2023)

Narrative citation: Owusu-Apenten and Vieira (2023)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Solan, A. (2019). Treating lupus: Advancements in autoimmune diseases. Oxford University Press.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year. 
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • End the reference with the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.

For books from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Solan, 2019)

Narratieve verwijzing: Solan (2019)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Tolstoy, L. (1982). War and peace (R. Edmonds, Trans.). Penguin Books. (Original work published 1978)

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, include the name of the translator in this format: Initial(s), Surname, Trans. (enclosed in parentheses). 
  • Then, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • Provide the year the book was originally published in its original language in this format: (Original work published xxxx). 
  • Do not end the reference with a period. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Tolstoy, 1978/1982)

Narrative citation: Tolstoy (1978/1982)

Note that the in-text citations contain two years: the publication year of the original book, and the publication year of the translation, separated by a slash.

Edited book or e-book

Edited books are compilations of chapters written by different authors. They are called edited books because they are compiled by one or more editor(s), who recruit other authors with expertise in a particular academic field to write specific chapters. 

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Ollendick, T. H., White, S. W., & White, B. A. (Reds.). (2018). The Oxford handbook of clinical child and adolescent psychology. Oxford University Press. https://doi.org/10.1093/oxfordhb/
9780190634841.001.0001

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the editor(s), followed by the abbreviation “Ed.” in parentheses. In the case of multiple editors, add “Eds.”.
  • Give het publicatiejaar.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI, whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Ollendick et al., 2018)

Narrative citation: Ollendick et al. (2018)

Edited books are compilations of chapters written by different authors. They are called edited books because they are compiled by one or more editor(s), who recruit other authors with expertise in a particular academic field to write specific chapters.

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Barney, M. B., & Bryant, I. K. (Eds.). (2021). Second language acquisition (2e ed.). Routledge.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the editor(s), followed by the abbreviation “Ed.” in parentheses. In the case of multiple editors, add “Eds.”.
  • Give the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • End the reference with the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
    For books from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Barney & Bryant, 2021)

Narrative citation: Barney and Bryant (2021)

Edited books are compilations of chapters written by different authors. They are called edited books because they are compiled by one or more editor(s), who recruit other authors with expertise in a particular academic field to write specific chapters. 

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Bradley, S., & Green, C. (Eds.). (2020). The economics of education: A comprehensive overview (2nd ed.). Academic Press. https://doi.org/10.1016/C2017-0-02304-2

Greenberg, L. S. (2017). Emotion-focused therapy (Rev. ed.). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/15971-000

Bakker, A., & van den Berg, T. (Eds.). (2020). Tax accounting: Unravelling the mystery of income taxes (2nd rev. ed.). IBFD Publications.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the editor(s), followed by the abbreviation “Ed.” in parentheses. If there are multiple editors, use “Eds.”.
  • Include the edition immediately after the title, not italicized and enclosed in parentheses. Do not use superscript (e.g., 3rd). If the book is a revised edition, write “Rev. ed.” (as in the second example).
  • Give the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Include the edition immediately after the title, not italicized and enclosed in parentheses. Do not use superscript (e.g., 3rd). If the book is a revised edition, write “Rev. ed.”, as in the second example. If the book is a revised second (or subsequent) edition, write "2nd rev. ed.", as in the third example.  
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • If the edited book has a DOI, end the reference with the DOI, whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Bradley & Green, 2020; Greenberg, 2017; Bakker & van den Berg, 2020)

Narrative citation: Bradley and Green (2020), Greenberg (2017), and Bakker and van den Berg (2020)

Chapter (with DOI) in an edited book or e-book

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Simonton, D. K. (2019). Talent development in the domain of academic psychology. In R. F. Subotnik, Olszewski-Kubilius, & F. C. Worrell (Eds.), The psychology of high performance: Developing human potential into domain-specific talent (pp. 201–224). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000120-010

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s) of the chapter, followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the chapter. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the initial(s) and last name(s) - in that order - of the book editor(s), followed by “Ed.” (for a single author) or “Eds.” ( for multiple authors) in parentheses. Precede the name of the (first) editor with “In.” 
  • List the title of the edited book (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. Notice the comma between the (last) editor’s surname and the book title. 
  • Give the page range on which the chapter appears. Separate the page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the work you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI of the chapter, whether you read the chapter online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 
    For book chapters from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Simonton, 2019)

Narrative citation: Simonton (2019)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Mona, L. R., Hayward, H., & Cameron, R. P. (2019). Cognitive behavior therapy and people with disabilities. In G. Y. Iwamasa, & P. A. Hays (Eds.), Culturally responsive cognitive behavior therapy: Practice and supervision (2nd ed., pp. 257–285). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000119-011

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s) of the chapter, followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the chapter. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the initial(s) and last name(s) - in that order - of the book editor(s), followed by “Ed.” (for a single author) or “Eds.” ( for multiple authors) in parentheses. Precede the name of the (first) editor with “In.” 
  • List the title of the edited book (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. Notice the comma between the (last) editor’s surname and the book title. 
  • The title is followed by the edition, and (separated by a comma) the page range of the chapter in parentheses. Separate the page numbers with an en dash (–). For a revised edition, use (Rev. ed., pp. xxx–xxx) or (2nd rev. ed., pp. xxx–xxx.) 
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the work you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI of the chapter, whether you read the chapter online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 
    For book chapters from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Mona et al., 2019)

Narrative citation: Mona et al. (2019)

Chapter (without DOI) in an edited book or e-book

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Lynch, A. (2019). Malory and emotion. In M. Leitch, & C. Rushton (Ed.), A new companion to Malory, pp. 177–190. D. S. Brewer.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s) of the chapter, followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the chapter. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the initial(s) and last name(s) - in that order - of the book editor(s), followed by “Ed.” (for a single author) or “Eds.” ( for multiple authors) in parentheses. Precede the name of the (first) editor with “In.” 
  • List the title of the edited book (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. Notice the comma between the (last) editor’s surname and the book title. 
  • Give the page range on which the chapter appears. Separate the page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the name of the publisher as shown on the work you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
    For book chapters from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Lynch, 2019)

Narrative citation: Lynch (2019)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Valkenburg, P. M., & Oliver, M. B. (2020). Media effects theories: An overview. In M. B. Oliver, A. A. Raney, & J. Bryant (Reds.), Media effects: Advances in theory and research (4e ed., pp. 16–35). Routledge.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s) of the chapter, followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the chapter. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the initial(s) and last name(s) - in that order - of the book editor(s), followed by “Ed.” (for a single author) or “Eds.” ( for multiple authors) in parentheses. Precede the name of the (first) editor with “In.” 
  • List the title of the edited book (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. Notice the comma between the (last) editor’s surname and the book title. 
  • The title is followed by the edition information and, separated by a comma and a space, the page range of the chapter in round brackets. For a revised edition, write: (Rev. ed., pp. xxx-xxx) or (2nd rev. ed., pp. xxx–xxx.). Separate the page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the name of the publisher as shown on the work you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
    For book chapters from a library database, the database name is not listed in the reference.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Valkenburg & Oliver, 2020)

Narrative citation: Valkenburg and Oliver (2020)

Multivolume work as a whole ǀ Volume of a multivolume work

In the reference list

Churchill, W. S. (1956-1958). A history of the English-speaking peoples (Vols. 1–4). Dodd, Mead & Company.

Travis, C. B., & White, J. W. (Eds.). (2018). APA handbook of the psychology of women (Vols. 1–2). American Psychological Association.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Give the publication year, If the volumes are published in different years, give the range of years (as in the first example).
  • List the title of the multivolume work (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, include the volume range (not in italics) in parentheses.
  • Then, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Churchill, 1956-1958, Travis & White, 2018)

Narrative citation: Churchill (1956-1958) and Travis and White (2018)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Churchill, W. S. (1956).  A history of the English-speaking peoples: Vol. 1. The birth of Britain. Dodd, Mead & Company.

Kiple, K. F., & Ornelas, K. C. (2008). The Cambridge world history of food (Vol. 1). Cambridge University Press.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide the year or year range of publication.
  • List the main title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the main title and any proper nouns.
    • For titled volumes: place a colon after the main title and add the volume number (both in italics). Then, list the volume title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the volume title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. See the first example.
    • For untitled volumes: place a colon after the main title and provide the volume number  in parentheses (not in italics). See the second example.
  • Then, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • If the volume has a DOI, include the DOI in the reference (do not include a period after the DOI). 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Churchill, 1956; Kiple & Ornelas, 2008)

Narrative citation: Churchill (1956) and Kiple and Ornelas (2008)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Taylor, S. E., Singer, J. E., & Baum, A. (Eds.). (2022). Handbook of psychology and health: Vol. I. Clinical psychology and behavioral medicine: Overlapping disciplines. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324
/9781003044307

Hauhart, R. C., & Sardoč, M. (Eds.) (2022). The Routledge handbook on the American Dream (Vol. 2). Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781003326243

  • Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the editor. Note that this is the editor of the multi-volume set, even if the volume has a different editor. After the editor's surname, add in parentheses the abbreviation "Ed.", or "Eds." if there are multiple editors. In the first example, the volume editors are Robert J. Gatchel, Andrew Baum, and Jerome E. Singer.
  • Then, provide the publication year.
  • List the volume title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present), and any proper nouns.
    • If the volume has its own title (as in the first example): place a colon after the main title, followed by the volume number, a period, and the volume title (both in italics). Capitalize the first word of the volume title, subtitle (if present), and any proper nouns.  
    • If the volume does not have its own title, (as in the second example): add the volume number after the main title in parentheses (not in italics).
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI, whether you read the book online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Taylor et al., 2022; Hauhart & Sardoč, 2022)

Narrative citations: Taylor et al. (2022) and Hauhart and Sardoč (2022)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Lerner, R. M. (Ed.). (2015). Handbook of child psychology and developmental science: Vol 2. Cognitive processes (7th ed.). Wiley.

Sowers, K. M., & Dulmus, C. N. (Eds.). (2008). Comprehensive handbook of social work and social welfare: Vol. 3. The practice of work (4th ed.). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9780470373705

Taussig, F. W. (1921). Principles of economics (3rd rev. ed., Vol. 2). Macmillan.

  • Begin the reference with the author or editor. Note that for edited volumes, this is the editor of the multi-volume work, even if the volume has a different editor. (In the first example, the volume editors are L. S. Liben and R. M. Müller, while the editor-in-chief is R.M. Lerner.)
  • After the editor's surname, add in parentheses the abbreviation "Ed.", or Eds." if there are multiple editors.  
  • Then, give the publication year.
  • List the title of the volume (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and all proper nouns.
    • If the volume has its own title (as in the first and second example): place a colon after the main title, followed by the volume number, a period, and the volume title (both in italics). Capitalize the first word of the volume title, subtitle (if present), and any proper nouns. Ather the title, include the edition information in parentheses. 
    • If the volume does not have its own title, (as in the third example): add the edition information and the volume number after the main title in parentheses, not in italics and in. After the title, include the edition information and the volume number in parentheses. 
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • If the multivolume set has a DOI, end the reference with the DOI, regardless of whether you read the book online or in print. Do not include a period after the DOI.

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Lerner, 2015; Sowers & Dulmus, 2008; Taussig, 1921)

Narrative citations: Lerner (2015), Sowers and Dulmus (2008), and Taussig (1921)

Chapter in a volume of a multivolume work

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Enns, Z. C. (2018). Feminist therapy and empowerment. In C. B. Travis & J. W. White (Eds.), APA handbook of the psychology of women: Vol. 2. Perspectives on women's private and public lives (pp. 3–19). American Psychological Association. https://doi.org/10.1037/0000060-001

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s) of the chapter, followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the chapter. Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the initial(s) and last name(s) – in that order – of the editor of the work. Note that this is the editor of the multi-volume set, even if the volume has a different editor. After the editor's surname, add in parentheses the abbreviation "Ed.", or "Eds." if there are multiple editors. Precede the name of the (first) editor with “In.” 
  • List the title of the volume (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, subtitle (if present) and any proper nouns. Notice the comma between the (last) editor’s surname and the book title. 
  • After the title, give the page range of the chapter in parentheses. Separate the page numbers with an en dash (–). 
  • Provide the name of the publisher as shown on the work you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the DOI of the chapter if the chapter has one, whether you read the chapter online or in print.
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Enns, 2018)

Narrative citation: Enns (2018)

E-book ǀ Edited e-book ǀ Audiobook (all with non-database URLs)

Please note For e-books, the format, platform or device (e.g., Kindle) is not mentioned in the reference (the example is a Kindle book).

In the reference list

Christian, B., & Griffiths, T. (2016). Algorithms to live by: The computer science of human decisions. Henry Holt and Co. http://a.co/7qGBZAk

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the URL (do not include a period after the URL). 
  • Do not include a period after the DOI. 

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Christian & Griffiths, 2016)

Narrative citation: Christian and Griffiths (2016)

Please note For e-books, the format, platform or device (e.g., Kindle) is not mentioned in the reference (the example is a Kindle book).

In de literatuurlijst

Graham, M., Kitchin, R., Mattern, S., & Shaw, J. (Eds.). (2019). How to run a city like Amazon, and other fables. Meatspace Press. https://issuu.com/meatspacepress/docs/how_to_run_a_city_like_amazon_and_other_fables

  • Begin the reference with the last name(s) and initial(s) of the editor(s) of the ebook. Add the abbreviation “Ed.” after the editor’s last name in parentheses. If there are more editors, add  “Eds.” after the last editor’s surname.
  • Give the publication year. 
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle (if present), and any proper nouns.
  • For e-books, the format, platform or device (e.g., Kindle) is not mentioned in the reference (the above example is a Kindle book).
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • End the reference with the URL (do not include a period after the URL). 

In de tekst

Parenthetical citation: (Graham et al., 2019)

Narratieve verwijzing: Graham et al. (2019)

In the reference list

James, C. (2022). Cultural amnesia: Necessary memories from history and the arts [Audiobook]. Audible. https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/Cultural-Amnesia-Audiobook/B004EWII4A (Original work published 2007)

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the book title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle (if present), and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book, without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC..
  • If an audiobook is abridged, include a form-specific description after the title (as in the example). Omit the form-specific description if the audiobook is unabridged.
  • After the title, provide the name of the publisher as shown on the book you used without designations of business structure such as Inc., Ltd., or LLC.. Capitalize the first word and all major words of the publisher's name.
  • Then, provide the URL (do not include a period after the URL). 
  • If an audiobook was released in a different year than the text version of the book, state the publication year of the text version in parentheses (as in the example). Do not include a period after the statement; do not include a period after the closing parenthesis.  

n the text

Parenthetical citation: (James, 2022)

Narrative citation: James (2022)

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed., text rev.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425787

  • Begin de referentie met de organisationele auteur en het publicatiejaar.
  • Vermeld de titel van het boek (cursief). Het eerste woord van de titel, ondertitel (indien aanwezig) en alle eigennamen krijgen een hoofdletter. Voeg tussen ronde haken de editie-informatie toe (niet cursief).
  • Na de titel van het werk en de editie-informatie zou normaal de uitgever worden vermeld. Omdat de auteur en de uitgever identiek zijn wordt de uitgever echter weggelaten.
  • Sluit de referentie af met de DOI van de DSM, ongeacht of je het boek online of in gedrukte vorm hebt gelezen.
  • Zet geen punt achter de DOI.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2022)

Narrative citation: American Psychiatric Association (2022)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

American Psychiatric Association. (2022). Feeding and eating disorders. In Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th ed., text rev.). https://doi.org/10.1176/appi.books.9780890425596.807874

  • Begin de referentie met de organisationele auteur en het publicatiejaar.
  • Vermeld de titel van het hoofdstuk. Het eerste woord van de titel, ondertitel (indien aanwezig) en alle eigennamen krijgen een hoofdletter.
  • Geef daarna de titel van het boek (cursief), voorafgegaan door “In.” Voeg tussen ronde haken de editie-informatie toe. Voeg tussen ronde haken de editie-informatie toe (niet cursief).
  • Na de titel van het werk en de editie-informatie zou normaal de uitgever worden vermeld. Omdat de auteur en de uitgever identiek zijn wordt de uitgever echter weggelaten.
  • Sluit de referentie af met de DOI van het hoofdstuk (en niet de DOI van de DSM als geheel), ongeacht of je het boek online of in gedrukte vorm hebt gelezen.
  • Zet geen punt achter de DOI.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (American Psychiatric Association, 2022)

Narrative citation: American Psychiatric Association (2022)