Skip to Main Content

Citing sources according to APA guidelines

APA Style @ TiU

4.1 Periodical works

On this page:

• Journal article with DOI • Newspaper article
• Journal article without DOI • Newsletter article
• Article from UpToDate ǀ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews • Blogpost ǀ Comment on a blogpost
• Magazine article    

Journal article with DOI

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Marmarosh, C. L. (2022). Attachments, trauma, and COVID-19: Implications for leaders, groups, and social justice. Group Dynamics, 26(2), 85–102. https://doi.apa.org/fulltext/2022-68702-001

Chandra, M., & Staiger, D. O. (2020). Identifying sources of inefficiency in healthcare. The Quarterly Journal of Economics, 135(2), 785–843. https://doi.org/10.1093/qje/qjz040

Leaper, C., Farkas, T., & Starr, C. R. (2019). Traditional masculinity, help avoidance, and intrinsic interest in relation to high school students’ English and math performance. Psychology of Men & Masculinities, 20(4), 603–611. https://doi.org/10.1037/men0000188

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s). The surname of the last author is preceded by a comma and an ampersand (&).
  • Provide the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number – without a space – comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Marmarosh, 2022; Chandra & Staiger, 2020; Leaper et al., 2019)

Narrative citations: Marmarosh (2022), Chandra and Staiger (2020), and Leaper et al. (2019)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Lee, S. H., Ripke, S., Neale, B. M., Faraone, S. V., Purcell, S. M., Perlis, R. H., Mowry, B. J., Thapar, A., Goddard, M. E., Witte, J. S., Absher, D., Agartz, I., Akil, H., Amin, F., Andreassen, O. A., Anjorin, A., Anney, R., Anttila, V., Arking, D. E., . . . Wray, N. R. (2013). Genetic relationship between five psychiatric disorders estimated from genome-wide SNPs. Nature Genetics, 45(9), 984–994. https://doi.org/10.1038/ng.2711

  • Begin the reference with the surnames and initial(s) of the first 19 authors. Then insert three spaced ellipsis points, followed by the final author’s name and initial(s).
  • Provide the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number – without a space – comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Lee et al., 2013)

Narrative citation: Lee et al. (2013)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Lyonhart, J., & Matheny, J. (2020). The monstrous other and the biblical narrative of Ruth. Journal of Religion & Film, 24(20), Article 3. https://doi.org/10.32873/uno.dc.jrf.24.2.003

Bafna, T., Bækgaard, P., & Hansen, J. P. (2021). Mental fatigue prediction during eye-typing. PLOS ONE, 16(2), Article e0246739. https://doi.org/10.1371/journal.pone.0232373

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number – without a space – comes the issue number (not in italics). Place a comma after the issue number.
  • Include the article number (as in the first example) or the eLocator (as in the second example). Write "Article" before the article number or eLocator.
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Lyonhart & Matheny, 2020; Bafna et al., 2021)

Narrative citation: Lyonhart and Matheny (2020) and Bafna et al. (2021)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Jackson, P., Brown, C., & Callender, L. (2021). Health-related quality of life during stay-at-home order and attitudes toward vaccination against COVID-19 in the District of Columbia, USA. Journal of Health and Social Sciences. Online voorpublicatie. https://doi.org/doi10.19204/2021/hlth4

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Volume number, issue number and page numbers are often not yet available.
  • After the journal title, insert “Advance online publication” (without parentheses or brackets).
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Jackson et al., 2021)

Narrative citation: Jackson et al. (2021)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Checo, A., Grigoli, F., & Mota, J. M. (2022). Assessing targeted containment policies to fight COVID-19 [Speciale aflevering]. B.E. Journal of Macroeconomics, 22(1), 159–196. https://doi.org/10.1515/bejm-2020-0260

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the title of the article. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • After the title, include a form-specific description in square brackets.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number – without a space – comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Checo et al., 2022)

Narrative citation: Checo et al. (2022)

Journal article without DOI

Please note For articles that come from a library database, the database name or URL are not listed in the reference. A database is mentioned only when the database or archive publishes original works available only in that database or archive (e.g., Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, UpToDate, preprint archives, and institutional or government archives).

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Ostroff, W. L. (2020). Teaching young children remotely. Educational Leadership, 78(3), 20–25.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number –  without a space –  comes the issue number (not in italics). Place a comma after the issue number.
  • End the reference with the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Ostroff, 2020)

Narrative citation: Ostroff (2020)

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Allen, J. (in press). The landscape of US public health education. Health Education Research.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • On the position of the year, write "in press" in parentheses (do not use capital letters).  
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns
  • End the reference with the journal title (in italics) in which the article will be published. Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Allen, in press)

Narrative citation: Allen (in press) 

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Francis, G. L., Duke, J. M., & Siko, L. (2020). Be ready, be well: A conceptual framework for supporting well-being among college students with disabilities. Journal of Postsecondary Education and Disability, 33(2), 129–141.
https://higherlogicdownload.s3.amazonaws.com/AHEAD/38b602f4-ec53-451c-9be0-5c0bf5d27c0a/UploadedImages/JPED/JPED_Vol_33/33_issue_2/JPED_33_2_.pdf

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the journal title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the journal title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number –  without a space –  comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with a link that leads directly to the article (if possible).
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Francis et al., 2020)

Narrative citation: Francis et al. (2020)

Article from UpToDate ǀ Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

Please note UpToDate contains articles that can only be found in this database. Therefore, the name of the database is included in the reference.

In de reference list

Brent, D., Cohen, J. A., & Strawn, J. (2019). Approach to treating posttraumatic stress disorder in children and adolescents. UpToDate. Retrieved 2021, July 21, from https://www.uptodate.com/contents/ approach-to-treating-posttraumatic-stress-disorder-in-children-and-adolescents

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year. Use the year of the last update (in the example, this is 2019).
  • Give the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Provide the name of the database (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • End the reference with the URL. Include a retrieval date, as UpToDate content is subject to change, and different versions are not archived.
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Brent et al., 2019)

Parenthetical citation: Brent et al. (2019)

INOTEI
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews contains articles that can only be found in this database. Therefore, the name of the database is included in the reference.

What is a DOI?

In the reference list

Willcox, M. L., Price, J., Scott, S., Nicholson, B. D., Stuart, B., Roberts, N. W., Allott, H., Mubangizi, V., Dumont, A., & Harnden, A. (2020). Death audits and reviews for reducing maternal, perinatal and child mortality. Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews. https://doi.org/10.1002/14651858.cd012982.pub2

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s), followed by the publication year.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Give the name of the database (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Willcox et al., 2020)

Narrative citation: Willcox et al. (2020) 

Magazine article

Please note For articles that come from a library database or online archive, the database name or URL are not listed in the reference. 

What is a DOI?

In de reference list

Vethaak, A. D., & Legler, J. (2021, 12 februari). Microplastics and human health. Science, 371(6530), 672–674. https://doi.org/10.1126/science.abe5041

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the magazine title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the magazine title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number – without a space – comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • End the reference with the DOI (do not include a period after the DOI).

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Vethaak & Legler, 2021)

Narrative citation: Vethaak and Legler (2021)

INOTEI
For articles that come from a library database or online archive, the database name or URL are not listed in the reference. 

In de literatuurlijst

Gilbey, R. (2022, May 13-19). Meet me in the multiverse. New Statesman, 151(5667), 49–50.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • Then, provide the magazine title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the magazine title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number –  without a space –  comes the issue number (not in italics). Place a comma after the issue number.
  • End the reference with the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).

In de tekst

Parenthetical citation: (Gilbey, 2022)

Narrative citation: Gilbey (2022)

In de literatuurlijst

Blakemore, E. (2020, Summer). The dolls that changed the world. Popular Science, 292(2), 46–51. https://digital.emagazines.com/popsci/20200519/mobile/index.html

Gorney, C. (2022, May 19). The audacious science pushing the boundaries of human touch. National Geographic Magazine. https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/article/the-audacious-science-pushing-the-boundaries-of-human-touch-feature

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns.
  • Then, provide the magazine title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • Place a comma after the magazine title and provide the volume number (in italics).
  • Immediately after the volume number –  without a space –  comes the issue number (not in italics).
  • Place a comma and provide the page range. Separate page numbers with an en dash (–).
  • If volume number, issue number, or page range are not available (as in the second example), omit them.
  • End the reference with a link that leads directly to the article (if possible).
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In de tekst

Parenthetical citations: (Blakemore, 2020; Gorney, 2022)

Narrative citations: Blakemore (2020) and Gorney (2022)

Newspaper article

Please note For articles that come from a library database or online archive, the database name or URL are not listed in the reference. 

In the reference list

Bunge, J. (2019, August 2). Wet weather poses costly challenge for agribusinesses. Wall Street Journal, B1.

Beaumont, P., & Boffey, D. (2022, March 10). Plea for safe passage after second ceasefire disaster. The Guardian, 1–2.

Roberts, R. (2021, April 10). Introverts are dreading a return to the noise, crowds and small talk of ‘normal’ life. The Washington Post.

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the newspaper title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • If you used the print version of the newspaper article, place a comma and then list the page(s) on which page(s) the article appears (as in the first and second example). Separate page numbers with an en dash (–). Place a comma between the newspaper title and the page range.If an article appears on discontinuous pages, list all page numbers separated by a comma (e.g., The Times, 8,11). There is no space after the comma.

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Bunge, 2019; Beaumont & Boffey, 2022; Roberts, 2021)

Narrative citations: Bunge (2019), Beaumont & Boffey (2022), and Roberts (2021)

In the reference list

Troianovski, A., Kingsley, P., & Crowley, M. (2022, March 9). Subtle shifts raise hopes for a cease-fire in Ukraine. The New York Times. https://www.nytimes.com/2022/03/09/world/europe/ukraine-russia-cease-fire-talks.html

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the newspaper title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • End the reference with a URL that leads directly to the article if possible.
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Troianovski et al., 2022)

Narrative citation: Troianovski et al. (2022)

Newsletter article

In the reference list

Calderon, A. (2021, September 20). Brighter futures for unheard voices. Global Insights Newsletter. https://www.apa.org/international/global-insights/unheard-voices

Primary Care Collaborative. (2022, Spring). PCC launches campaign to help patients benefit from more community- based primary care. PCC Newsletter. https://www.pcpcc.org/newsletter/pcc-spring-2022-newsletter#mainarticle

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide as specific a date as possible.
  • List the article title. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Give the title of the newsletter  (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • When periodical information (volume number, issue number, page range) is missing, omit it from the reference.
  • End the reference with a URL that leads directly to the article if possible.
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Calderon, 2021; Primary Care Collabrative, 2022)

Narrative citation: Calderon (2021) and Primary Care Collabrative (2022)

Blog post ǀ Comment on a blog post

In the reference list

Radaelli, P. G. (2021, February 3). From rust to riches? Computing goes green... or is that brown? Oxford Science Blog. https://www.ox.ac.uk/news/science-blog/rust-riches-computing-goes-greenor-brown

  • Begin the reference with the surname(s) and initial(s) of the author(s).
  • Provide the exact date.
  • List the title of the blogpost. Capitalize the first word of the title, the subtitle, and any proper nouns. 
  • Then, provide the blog title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • End the reference with a URL that leads directly to the article.
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citation: (Radaelli, 2021)

Narrative citation: Radaelli (2021)

In the reference list

Rice, C. (2022, April 9). This is a very interesting proposal and approach. Two things in particular strike me. First of all, isn’t this going [Comment on the blog post “The potential butterfly effect of preregistered peer-reviewed research”]. The Official PLOS Blog. https://theplosblog.plos.org/2022/04/preregistered-peer-reviewed- research/#comment-74943

Ashley. (2020, March 3). I have two independent clauses separated by a semicolon, and they both share the same source I am using parenthetical [Comment on the blogpost “The transition to seventh edition APA Style”].  APA Style. https://apastyle.apa.org/blog/transition-seventh-edition#comment-481906010

  • Begin the reference with the surname and initial(s) of the author. Use the author format that appears with the comment, i.e., a real name (as in the first example) or a username (as in the second example). 
  • Give the exact date.
  • List the comment title or up to the first 20 words of the comment. Then write “Comment on the blog post” followed by up to the first 20 words of the blogpost on which the author commented (in quotation marks and enclosed within square brackets).
  • Then, provide the blog title (in italics). Capitalize the first word of the title and all major words.
  • End the reference with a URL that leads directly to the comment. If this is not possible, provide a link to the blog post.
  • Do not include a period after the URL.

In the text

Parenthetical citations: (Rice, 2022; Ashley, 2020)

Narrative citations: Rice (2022) and Ashley (2020)