Skip to Main Content

EndNote: Direct export from databases

A guide to using EndNote X9

Direct export from databases

Most databases have a Direct Export function that will export a reference into your EndNote library. The necessary steps and terminology may differ with the database. Here is a general outline of the basic steps required by most databases:

  1. Select the references you want to export using the tick boxes, Add to Folder or Mark Records option
  2. Look for a way to export your selected references. This can be called: 'Export', 'Export to reference manager', 'Direct Export', 'Output'  or 'Save Citation'
  3. You may need to choose an output method for EndNote or a RIS format
  4. Click on: Save, Export, Download or Open
  5. EndNote will open (you may need to select your library) and the references will appear in the temporary window

Web of Science

In Web of Science you can add references to a marked list before exporting or export without marking records.

1 . Export Marked list 

  • Step 1: Add the articles you want to export to your marked list

  • Step 2: Go to your marked list
  • Step 3: Select records: 'all records in this list' OR one of the other options
  • Step 4: Select all to include all information about the article, including Abstract
  • Step 5: Select destination: 'Export to EndNote Desktop' from the drop-down menu

  • Endnote should launch automatically. If not, choose the Open option if prompted.
  • Select a library and select Open. The references should now be displayed in the EndNote Library.
  • Note: if you haven't opened an EndNote library first, it will open the defaulted library. You can changes this procedure through preferences. Top bar > Edit > Preferences > Libraries. 

 

2. Export without marking records

  • Perform a search
  • Check individual records, individual page(s) or do nothing
  • Unfold the Export menu
  • Select 'Export to EndNote desktop'
  • Choose either all records on page or a range of records (up to 500).
  • Choose the record content: 'Full record' 
  • Send directly to EndNote

 

Watch this video for direct export in different web browsers (Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, Firefox for Windows or Mac)

PubMed (Medline)

Direct export in PubMed only works with less then 200 citations. If you want to export more references, see the information about importing text files from PubMed.

  • Select the references you want to export by ticking the box in front of the title
  • Click on the arrow at Send to
  • Choose Citation Manager
  • Click Create File
  • EndNote will open and the references will appear in the temporary window
  • Note: you can skip selecting references and stick to the 200 record limit

 

 

Watch this video for more information about direct exporting from PubMed.

 

EBSCO Databases

EBSCO uses the same method for exporting references in all databases. You can select references and export them directly into EndNote. This will take a few steps. If you want to export all results and it's a large amount of records, you can choose the option Email to create a file. See more information on importing text files from EBSCO databases.

  • Add References one by one: by clicking on this  button at the end of the title.
  • Add 50 items at a time by:
    • Click on the button Share on the top of the result screen to start the export process
    • Click Add to folder (Results 1-50)

​

  • Open the folder  (at the top of the screen)
  • Press Export in the right side bar. 
  • In the Export manager: Choose the output format: 'Direct Export in RIS format'.  And click on Save.

​

EBSCO databases available at Tilburg University Library: American Doctoral Dissertations, ATLA CPLI (Catholic Periodical and Literature Index), ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials PLUS, Business Source Ultimate, Communication, Abstracts, EBSCO Open Dissertations, EBSCOhost eBook Collection, EconLit, GreenFILE, Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts, MedLine, MLA International Bibliograpy with Full Text, Philosopher's Index, PsycArticles, Psychological and Behavioral Sciences Collection, PsycINFO

Google Scholar

Configure Google Scholar to send references to EndNote:

  • Go to the Google Scholar home page
  • Click on the  button on the top left of the page
  • Click on Settings
  • Under 'Bibliography Manager' select the option 'Show links to import citations into' and choose 'EndNote' in the drop down box
  • Click on the Save button

After performing a search on Google Scholar click on the 'Import into EndNote'-link for the reference you want to import. If you are presented with a window asking if you want to 'Open' or 'Save' the file, choose to open the file. In the next window: select the EndNote library you want to use.

 

Google Books

Finding the link to referencing Google books is a bit hidden. 

Possible methods:

  • Search for a book
  • Select the title you wish to export into 
    • look at the Left hand side of the screen for a link 'more information' or 'about this book' and scroll down until you see an EndNote button
    • or if that link is absent, scroll all the way down until you see the EndNote button

 

ProQuest Databases

In ProQuest you can only save 100 records a time.

  • Select records
  • Press button Save
  • Choose 'RIS (works with Endnote, Citavi, etc.)'

When you have created an Endnote online account, you can use a browser tool or bookmarklet for importing records.

EndNote Web has two browser tools that can make importing records easier than other methods. These do not work with all databases, however, and some browsers work better than others. 
Both tools can be found in EndNote Web under Downloads.

Capture reference
The capture tool is a bookmarklet that you add to your browser's Bookmark Toolbar. When searching article databases, you can view a record and then click the button on your toolbar to import to EndNote Web. This works with many popular databases like JSTOR and PubMed and many journal publisher sites. It also works with Chrome, Firefox and Internet Explorer. Drag the Capture Reference button to your Bookmarks bar.

Browser Add-on
​EndNote Web has add-ons for Internet Explorer and Firefox. This adds a button to your toolbar that works in the same way as the Bookmarklet.

The Internet Explorer add-on will be installed automatically when you install the Cite While You Write tool for Word. The Firefox add-on is installed manually like other Firefox add-ons.