EndNote has the ability to search for full text articles which you have access to through the Tilburg University library subscriptions and/or that are freely available on the Internet to attach to your existing references. When EndNote locates a copy of an article, it automatically downloads and attaches the PDF to the corresponding EndNote record.
To get the most out of this feature, you will first need to change some settings in EndNote.
Go to Edit > preferences
1. Change the settings: 'automatically invoke find full text '
2. Change the settings: to find full-text outside the campus
1. Change the settings automatically invoke full text'
In EndNote you can add PDF's (full text documents) automatically.
In some cases this may seem useful, after all, it saves a lot of work. In other cases, e.g. when importing thousands of references it is not recommended: the download time will be impacted enormously, the library size increases as well. You can control this through your EndNote preferences.
Top bar > Edit – Preferences – Find Full Text
If you are working with large reference sets it is recommended to uncheck the box 'automatically invoke find full text'
2. Fill in information necessary to find Tilburg University-licensed material
Go to Edit > Preferences > Find Full Text
Copy/paste this information:
| OpenURL path: | https://tilburguniversity.idm.oclc.org/login?url=https://tilburguniversity.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link |
| Authenticate with URL |
Go to Edit > Preferences > URLs&Links
| ISI Base URL: |
http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi |
| OpenURL Arguments: |
?sid=ISI:WoS&aufirst=AUFIRST&aulast=AULAST&issn=ISSN&isbn=ISBN&atitle=ATITLE&title= TITLE&volume=VOLUME&issue=ISSUE&date=DATE&spage=SPAGE&epage=EPAGE |
If you leave the preference box automatically invoke find full text checked, EndNote will try to connect full text to all imported references. While Importing references from other sources in the left part of EndNote an overview of the PDF import process is shown. This can be halted or paused with a right mouse click over the searching link. References with a connected PDF can be recognised by a paperclip.
If you left the preference box automatically invoke find full text unchecked, you can decide to which references you wish to connect PDFs.
1. Connect a PDF filed on your computer to an existing reference in EndNote:
Tip: to find you PDF easier on your computer: save it as author name + year
2. Adding a pdf from your computer to EndNote whitout an existing EndNote reference
Go to File > import > choose import option PDF > Choose import File [the PDF]
For articles: in most cases the relevant fields (author, journal name etc.) will be filled automatically,
For reports, and other types of literature: this option will not work. You have to create the EndNote Record first. Search LibSearch or Google Scholar to find a reference and export it into EndNote. Or add information manually into the EndNote record and connect the full text with the paperclip option as described before.
It can happen that there is no way that you can find a PDF to your imported references.
Reasons for not finding a PDF:
You have to keep in mind that resources often contain more references, articles than a license/ subscription to this particular source covers.
If you have found an article in a literature database such as PubMed, try to find the Tilburg University link leading you to another database and see if you can get access to the article.
If an article is not available. You can try to obtain a copy from the Inter Library Loans service, visit another library or contact the author of the article.