Skip to main content

InfoSkills for Humanities & Digital Sciences

InfoSkills @ TiU

Google Scholar: Search tips

Use double quotation marks for exact phrases 

Like in Google and Google Books, use quotation marks to search for exact phrases. 

Use the Advanced search

Google Scholar has an advanced search mode to enable more precise searching. To go to the Advanced search page click on the hamburger icon in the upper left corner ➋ of the Google Scholar search page.

Additional functionalities of the Advanced Search page include:

  • determining how exactly Google Scholar should search -- 
    • with all of the words;
    • with the exact phrase;
    • with at least one of the words;
    • without the words.
  • determining where your search terms should be searched (anywhere in the article [default] or in the article title); 
  • searching by author or journal title;
  • limiting by year or date range.

Use the date filter options 

Your results are ranked by relevance, with matching items closer to the top. You'll notice that the results are not very recent. Make use of the 'Since year' filters in the left sidebar to see more recent articles that haven't had time to be cited much. For example, click on 'Since 2017' ❸ to show only items published since 2017, sorted by relevance. 

Finding full-text  

Does clicking on the title link not lead you to the full text of the item? Go back to the result page and try the link(s) Google Scholar provides. 

  1. The 'Fulltext via TiUfinder' link (on the right side of the result) should ALWAYS be your first choice. This link will lead you to the formally published version of the article in one of the TiU library's paid databases (if available)..
    E-journals held by the TiU library are exclusively accessible for students and staff of Tilburg University. This is why you'll only see  TiUfinder links when you're connected to the TiU network. On campus you automatically are when using a study place or a mobile device connected to the WiFi network Eduroam, but off campus you need a VPN connection.

  2. Does the TiUfinder link not bring you to the full text, or is the link not displayed at all? Try other links that are shown on the right side of the result. The ones labeled [PDF] or [HTML]  will help you find the full text of the item in a publicly available place, e.g. an institutional repository. Note that an 'open access' document may not be the final (formally published) version of the article.

  3. No TiUfinder, [PDF] or [HTML] links visible? Click 'All versions' to check out the alternative documents Google Scholar has found.

Access to TiU full text

Why can't I see TiUfinder links from off campus?

E-journals held by the TiU library are exclusively accessible for students and staff of Tilburg University. 

This is why Google Scholar will only show you TiUfinder links when you're connected to the TiU network. On campus you automatically are when you're using a study place or a mobile device connected to the WiFi network Eduroam.

But off campus you'll need to set up a 'Virtual Private Network' (VPN). 

What is VPN?

VPN is software that provides secure, password-protected access to TiU's campus network from an off-campus location. Once the VPN is running on your computer, it will have a Tilburg University IP address instead of the one normally supplied by your service provider. 

VPN software is freely available for TiU students. Check Module D: 'Access to TiU full text from off campus' for more information.