Skip to Main Content

InfoSkills for Humanities and Digital Sciences

InfoSkills @ TiU

Choosing the right database

How to find the best databases for your subject 

Step 1

Start from the homepage of the university library.

The library home page provides links to: 

➊ An alphabetical directory to all of the library's databases; 
➋  An option to view a list of databases in your subject.

Step 2

Click on the 'Databases by subject' link. This will bring you to this page: 

Step 3

When you've chosen a subject, the database overview page will appear (in this example for the Social Sciences).

➊ Filter the list alphabetically by first letter of title. 
➋  Filter the list by entering a term. This will then show those databases that contain this word in the database title, description, or keywords (it does NOT search inside the database itself). If you enter multiple terms, the result will be databases that match all terms. 
➌  Click a keyword to see all databases associated with that keyword. Note that two different types of keywords are assigned to each database, relating to:
  • form (i.e. the type of publication, e.g. journals or newspapers), and
  • contents (i.e. the subjects covered by the databases). 
➍  Click the More... link in the description field to find even more descriptive information about the database.
➎ Click the database's title to access and search the contents of the database. 

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License by Tilburg University.