Skip to main content

InfoSkills for Social and Behavioral Sciences

InfoSkills @ TiU

Finding full text articles from databases

When the full text is not available in the database you're searching

Some library databases provide direct access to full text articles, while others contain just publication details (such as year, author, title, journal title, volume, issue and page numbers) and usually the abstract. Some databases are a mixture of both types. 

Reminder: VPN

Keep in mind that you need a VPN connection if you want to access full text from home. 

The TiUfinder

Databases that don't include full text (or only for part of the records) require a few more steps to get access to the item you want. In such databases you have to use the 'TiUfinder', which enables you to connect directly from a database record to the full-text article, if available through the TiU library. The TiUfinder will also tell you if the library holds the article in print. Notice that in a library database the TiUfinder ❶ looks a bit fancier than in Google Scholar. 

How does the TiUfinder work?

If the TiU library subscribes to the journal, two things can happen.

  1. The article is found and you get one or more links to the full text. Some articles initially display as HTML. To view or download the PDF, click the PDF link.

  2. The TiUfinder takes you to the journal's home page, because the publisher doesn’t provide direct links to specific articles. Look for a 'back issues' or 'archive' link, and then navigate to the article using the date, volume, issue and page number information given in the database record for the article. Once you find the article, look for PDF links to open the full text of the article.

Example

Clicking on the TiUfinder button in the record shown above brings you to the library system.

This brings you to the database or to the journal publisher where you can access the full text: