Skip to Main Content

InfoSkills for Economics and Management

InfoSkills @ TiU

2.2. Web of Science: Result page

❶ Sort order

Relevance is the default sort order. Other sort orders include Date: newest first, Date: oldest first, Citations: highest first, and more.

Filtering results

Use the 'Refine Results' feature to refine/filter your results. The first option is to search within the results. Some of the main filters include Publication Years, Document Types, Web of Science Categories (broad fields of study), Authors, and Publication Titles (e.g., Journal of Business Ethics). 

Finding full text

Web of Science provides multiple options for getting full text:

  • 'Free Full Text from Publisher' means that the article is open access;
  • 'Free Published or Accepted Article from Repository' means that the article has been deposited in a repository. An accepted article is a pre-print version of the article (not in its final published form yet). Always choose the traditionally published version of the article, if available.  
  • 'Full text from Publisher', which will bring you to the publisher's website. This button may lead you to the full text for free, but some publishers charge you for access to full text. Don't ever pay for an article! If it turns out that the TiU library doesn't have access to the article, you can still get it from the Interlibrary Loan system.
  • The 'TiUfinder', which will often -- but not always -- lead you to the full text. 

 Performing a citation search

For every result (unless it's very recently published) a clickable citation count is displayed, telling you how often the result is cited by other publications indexed in Web of Science. Click on such a link and a screen will appear with results (mostly articles) citing the result in question. 

 Starting a new search or modifying current search

If you want to start a new search or add additional criteria to your current search, click the search box near the top of the screen, which gives you options to reset all search fields.