InfoSkills for Economics and Management

Clicking article titles in the results may direct you to articles hosted on commercial publishers’ websites, where full access can come with a hefty price tag:

Don’t pay! Instead, link Google Scholar to the TiU library to access content for free. 

Connect Google Scholar to access TiU resources

On campus

When you’re on campus using a study place or a mobile device connected to the Eduroam WiFi network, your Google Scholar searches will automatically display TiUfinder links.

Off campus

Accessing the library’s e-resources from off campus requires a little more effort.

1.  Use the EZproxy links in the database list

The simplest way to connect to TiU content is by using the EZproxy link to Google Scholar found in the library’s database list. This link includes all the necessary settings and guarantees off-campus access to full-text articles (TiU credentials required).  

2.  Set up a Google Scholar account

Alternatively, set up Google Scholar for an individual account by following these steps:

• Go to Google Scholar
• Click the menu icon in the top-left corner
• Click "Settings" in the sidebar
• Click "Library Links"
• Type "Tilburg" into the search field and click the Search button
• Tick the checkbox next to "Tilburg University Library – Full text via TiUfinder"
• Then click Save

Steps to access full text

Imagine coming across an interesting article in your Google Scholar search results that you’d like to read in full.

1. The Fulltext via TiUfinder link on the right side of the search result (if available) should always be your first choice. TiUfinder is an application that searches TiU-licensed content to determine if Tilburg University provides access to the article. When access is available, it directs you straight to the official published version. Please note that some publishers may still impose access restrictions.
   
2. No TiUfinder link?
   Check for alternative links on the right side of the entry, such as those labeled [PDF] or [HTML]. These often lead to freely available versions from open access journals, institutional repositories, or other digital archives.
3. Still no access?
   Click on "All versions" to see other versions of the article that Google Scholar may have indexed.
4. Can’t find the full text anywhere?
   Use the interlibrary loan service to request the item. While there is a small fee for students, it's far less than what commercial publishers charge.