This year, until the end of December 2023, the university library provides access to four archival ProQuest databases.
Early European Books – collection 14 and collection 15
Early European Books provides scholars with new ways of accessing and exploring all works printed in Europe before 1701, drawing together a diverse array of printed sources, regardless of language, as well as works published further afield. This resource offers full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of some of the world's most significant collections of early printed books in Europe.
Subject coverage: European history and literature, Religion and politics, Philosophy and classical thinkers, Early medicine and science, Travel literature.
Food Studies Online provides researchers rich archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Food studies is a relatively new field of study, but its importance is felt in many major disciplines. It has social, historical, economic, cultural, religious, and political implications that reach far beyond what is consumed at the dinner table.
This collection aids researchers in answering such questions as, “What are the environmental and social consequences of various sorts of eating habits?”, “What is a food system?”, and “How is culinary culture shaped by the dynamics of colonialism, immigration, urbanization, and global capitalism?”
Subject coverage: Organic Farming/Small Farms, School lunch programs, Childhood nutrition, Marketing and advertising, Packaging, Food industry, Environmental impact of GMOs, US food programs during WWI/WWII, Food security, Famine, Vegetarianism, Labor practices, Food safety, Wine making, Obesity, Gender roles through history, Food habits around the world and more.
Economist Intelligence Unit Country Reports Archive
The Economist Intelligence Unit has published Country Reports since 1952, covering almost 200 countries. Each report presents detailed statistics alongside expert commentary and forecasting from the EIU’s analysts. This database presents the historical reports up to 1995, with all data from the statistical tables fully captured and downloadable in spreadsheet form. It is a unique archive of analysis and explanation of political, economic and commercial developments, together with historical statistical data. Coverage: 1952 - 1995
Subject coverage: Macroeconomics, World economics, Regional Economics, Political developments, Economic conditions, Energy resources and policy, Labor conditions and policy, Area studies, Geography
0 Comments.