LIS Research Support Weblog: RS Weblog

ProQuest TDM Studio: trial Text and Data Mining

Until the end of 2022, Tilburg University researchers will have the opportunity to try out TDM Studio.

TDM Studio is a text and data mining solution for research, teaching and learning. It offers two pathways to perform text and data mining.

• TDM Studio Visualization is designed for users of all levels to quickly spot trends and generate insights. It provides researchers an option to interrogate ProQuest content using interactive, graphical representations of the data and require no coding.
• TDM Studio Workbench is designed for experienced researchers who use their own coding methodologies and who are accustomed to using coding for textual analysis. It provides full programmatic access to content using Python or R. 

Using TDM Studios

Resources about using TDM Studio are available in the TDM Studio Libguide. Sections included are:

• Content overview with videos, PPT presentations, recorded webinars, and a Quick Start Guide
• Using the Workbench
• Using Visualization

Databases available for TDM Studio

TDM Studio unlocks a vast collection of current and historical ProQuest content (including news, journals, dissertations and theses, primary sources and more) for TDM. The databases that are available:

• Coronavirus Research Database
• ABI/INFORM Global (with some restrictions)
• Art & Architecture Archive Collection 1-2
• Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 1: Music, Radio and The Stage
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 2: Cinema, Film and Television (part 1-2)
• Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive Collection 4: Music - Rock, Folk and Hip-Hop
• Education Magazine Archive
• ERIC
• Health & Fitness Magazine Archive
• Historical Newspapers: The Christian Science Monitor
• Historical Newspapers: The Times of India
• LGBT Magazine Archive
• Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
• Men's Magazine Archive
• Acta Sanctorum (later this year)
• Patrologia Latina (later this year)
• Periodicals Archive Online Collections 1-10
• PTSDpubs
• Religious Magazine Archive
• The Rolling Stone Archive
• Sociological Abstracts
• The Vogue Archive

How to get started

TDM Studio does not require IP Authentication and can be accessed from anywhere.

To access TDM Studio Visualization:

1. Visit https://tdmstudio.proquest.com/home
2. Select "Log in to TDM Studio"
3. Select "Create an account"
4. Enter the required information, click the consent check box and select "Create Account"
5. You will receive a confirmation email with a link to finish the account creation process

To access TDM Studio Workbench, please send an email to your library’s TDM liaison, Puck Wildschut. Workbench access can be granted for a period of 3 months, which can be extended under certain conditions.

Keep an eye out for TDM Studio workshops for Tilburg University employees in the coming months. Are you interested in a workshop tailored specifically to the needs of your department or research group? Do you have any other questions about TMD Studio? Please feel free to let us know!