Skip to Main Content

Financial databases

'Go To' Databases

This tab provides information on a couple of databases that we categorized as 'Go to', as they provide the vast majority of the data that students/researchers are normally looking for. 

Below you will find a comparison between three major databases regarding data on equities. If you are looking for data on mergers & acquisitions please read the "SDC" tab. In addition, some user guides are included on how to use the databases. Please first have a look at those files before you contact us with your issue!

                          Datastream Macroeconomics Analysis | LSEG

Content Comparison

LSEG Workspace (formerly known as Refinitiv Workspace, Eikon) and Datastream (an excel plugin available only for Windows and via Data Lab for MacBook users) that allows to retrieve data on:

  • Listed and delisted companies, global coverage;

  • Index + Index Constituent Lists;

  • ESG data;

  • Stock prices up to daily frequency;

  • Financials for companies (e.g. Market Cap, Total Asset)

  • Ratios, multiples, and forecasts (provided by IBES;

  • Macro economic data (e.g. GDP per country);

  • Options, bonds, and futures.

Instructions 

SDC Platinum, now accessible as an add-on within the LSEG Workspace platform, offers data on Mergers & Acquisitions, Joint Ventures & Strategic Alliances, Private Equity (i.e. Investments, Exits, and Fundraisings), Global New Issues (Equity, Bonds, and Loans) and more. It is possible to set filters and create a list of M&A deals and find corresponding company financials. 

Below you will find a guide on how to open and use SDC. Please have a look at those slides first. If you cannot find an answer to your question, please contact us.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) is an online platform that allows to retrieve data from two major datasets (among many other datasets): 

  1. Compustat provides standardized North American and global financial statement and market data (incl. Index Constituents) for over 80,000 active and inactive publicly traded companies that financial professionals have relied on for over 50 years. 
  2. CRSP maintains the most comprehensive collection of security price, return, and volume data for the NYSE, AMEX, and NASDAQ stock markets.

Orbis is an online database that allows to relatively easily retrieve data on:

  • Public and private companies, global coverage from mid-1990s;
  • Company financials, yearly and quarterly frequency;
  • Accounting data (e.g. R&D expenses); 
  • Ownership and corporate structure data

Creative Commons License This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International License by Tilburg University Library.