Skip to main content

InfoSkills for Social and Behavioral Sciences

InfoSkills @ TiU

Before you start...

Please Note: At the moment, access via VPN is not possible due to server problems. Please use EZProxy to access the databases. This works automatically if you use the links to the databases in this tutorial, by using the Databases lists on libsearch.uvt.nl


Install VPN

Before you start with the first module, we suggest you install VPN on your device. You'll need it if you want to take the InfoSkills test from home. Are you planning to take the test on campus? Then you don't need VPN.

What is VPN?

VPN is software that provides secure, password-protected access to TiU's campus network from an off-campus location. Once the VPN is running on your computer, it will have a Tilburg University IP address instead of the one normally supplied by your service provider. You'll have access to the library resources you need for the test.

VPN software is freely available for TiU students. 

VPN: Set-up instructions

Three steps to use VPN

  1. Download and install the VPN software
    Step-by-step instructions are available at our Virtual Private Network page.
  2. Activate the VPN
    You'll need to log in using your TiU username and password.

  3. Open your browser
    You'll be 'virtually' on the TiU network now, having full access to all of the library's e-content.

Please note that EACH TIME you want access to the library databases from off campus you need to activate your VPN, log in and open your browser (steps 2 and 3). 

Need help?

Please note, due to problems with the VPN server, at this moment access tot the databases is not possible via VPN. As a workaround, please only use the links to the databases in the database list: Databases by subject.

If you have questions or need help, contact Library support:

E-mail
library@tilburguniversity.edu

Telephone
013 466 2124

Location
Tilburg: L Building, Information desk after the entrance

Opening hours
Mon - Fri: 08:30 - 17:00